Smoothie Queen in Training

Lately I have been messing around with different breakfast options because I’m finding it hard to get enough [healthy] calories in my body for my runs. I’ve tried egg sandwiches, peanut butter toast on Ezekiel bread, and now smoothies! I had some time to kill yesterday at work and was reading Peanut Butter Fingers, one of my favorite blogs. Julie, the blogger, always posts delicious recipes and I thought to myself, “You have a perfectly good bright pink blender that you haven’t used yet, make yourself some smoothies!” So this morning I tweaked one of the smoothie recipes Julie posted to create my own!

Looks delicious, right?

I made my smoothie with:

  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 scoop Whey To Go chocolate protein powder
  • handful of strawberries
  • handful of blueberries
  • handful of spinach
  • large spoonful of peanut butter
  • large spoonful of cocoa powder
  • 1 instant coffee packet
  • about a teaspoon of xanthan gum (for thickening)
  • a handful of ice

Not too sure

I wasn’t sure what I would think, but I ended up really enjoying it! I made too much to fit in my little cup, but this evening after my 5.5 mile run I was excited to have the leftovers waiting for me in my refrigerator! I often get hungry between breakfast and lunch, but this puppy held me over until noon! I may have to try another tomorrow!

It was so good that even Bella wanted some!

And now I’m sitting here on my couch, trying to figure out this new blog, and eating these tomatoes my boss brought me from my garden. Not too shabby.

It’s about time for me to hit the showers and curl up in bed with a book. Getting ready to start a new book by Kristin Hannah, an author I’ve recently come to love. Are any of you reading good books right now? Any good smoothie recipes?

2 thoughts on “Smoothie Queen in Training

Leave a Reply

