Too Much Caffeine!

So last night I mentioned the fact that I was so thankful to have some of my leftover smoothie after my run…fast-forward three hours when I was trying (and failing miserably) to fall asleep. I knew I was tired and couldn’t figure out what my problem was. That leftover smoothie I had? Forgot that it had coffee in it. I am not a regular coffee drinker as is, but having it at 8:00 at night had me wired. So I got a little bit farther into my new book than I planned!

So far, so good!

This will be my third Kristin Hannah book I’ve read in the last month, and I really enjoyed the first two. This could be the beginning of a great love…slash why haven’t I read any of her books before?!

This morning I struggled to get out of bed (you know, the whole lack of sleep thing), but still managed to make myself look somewhat presentable and made myself a delicious smoothie!

Ready to blend

I made a different one than yesterday, and this one did not include ANY coffee! Here is the recipe:

  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 scoop Whey To Go chocolate protein powder
  • 1 handful spinach
  • 1 handful blueberries
  • 5 medium-sized strawberries
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 large spoonful of peanut butter
  • 1 teaspoon xanthan gum (for thickening)
  • 1 handful ice

    DeliciousThe

     

There were a couple issues with my smoothie this morning. I’ve never used xanthan gum before, therefore I’m not really sure how powerful it is. I used a teaspoon and a half this morning and my cheek muscles are sore from trying to suck it up the straw! My recommendation is to stick to just a tablespoon.

This is too much work!

The other issue I have is that I’m still kind of hungry. I’m not sure if this is a result of me not eating enough for breakfast or not refueling enough after my run last night. Either way I’ve got about two hours to go until lunch and a Chocolate Chip Brownie Larabar that is supposed to be my afternoon snack screaming my name. Willpower. I can do it! I will likely be creating a huge salad at the salad bar for lunch today!

Leave a Reply

