Never-Ending Ab Muscles?

After writing my last post about starving until lunch time, I actually found that I was no longer hungry. Thank goodness! As usual I made myself a nice big salad at lunch with cucumbers, tomatoes, mushrooms, eggs, and they even had chicken today! After my salad I was craving carbs, so I went ahead and had a cheese quesadilla. Not my finest moment, and I learned my lesson when I didn’t even really enjoy it (I’m not a huge cheese fan).

Apparently my salad and quesadillas still weren’t enough and by 2:30 I was ready for a snack. Thankfully I packed myself a Chocolate Chip Brownie Larabar for the afternoon. I’ve never tried Larabars before but had heard good things about them. I was a little nervous about the nine grams of fat it contained, but I keep reminding myself that it’s good fat.

Doesn’t it just SOUND delicious?!

I wasn’t impressed after the first couple bites, but as I kept eating it I started to enjoy it more. It took some getting used to, but I would definitely try one again. I have another chocolate-y flavor in my cupboard somewhere!

The other day I got an email from the lovely Olive Garden informing me that the never-ending pasta bowl had returned. Then I kept seeing commercials for it. Who am I to say no? My friend Stacey and Emily and I were all in need of a girls night, so we headed to the OG and had ourselves some pasta! Well, Stacey and I did, Emily resisted. I tried the whole wheat linguine with Chianti three meat sauce. Let me just tell you that the sauce was amazing! You could definitely taste the wine base to the sauce, and I love me some wine so I had no complaints.

delicioso!

Of course since this pasta bowl was “never-ending,” I finished my plate and got seconds to take home with me. Dinner for tomorrow! After leaving Olive Garden and feeling my food baby give a little kick, I found myself wondering “why doesn’t the never-ending pasta bowl come with never-ending ab muscles?” Since we all know that’s not realistic I headed to the gym with Stacey for a workout!

Today’s Workout

Abs

  • Twisting crunches with 10-pound plate, 3 sets of 15
  • Straight leg crunches with 10-pound plate, 3 sets of 15
  • “G ups” with body weight, 3 sets of 15

Arms

  • Bicep curls with 10-pound weights, 3 sets of 12
  • Tricep extensions with 10-pound weights, 3 sets of 12
  • Chest press on incline with 10-pound weights, 3 sets of 12

Cardio

  • 15 minutes on the elliptical

I was hoping to do more but wasn’t feeling it today. I have a race on Saturday and didn’t want to push it too hard

Now I’m sitting on my couch with leftover smoothie (no coffee this time!) and putting off my packing for the weekend. I’m heading to my parents’ house for a 5k this weekend along with a birthday celebration for one of my good friends from college.

This gem came in the mail today!

Just call me the water girl

I find myself getting really thirsty on long runs, so it was time to invest in a water belt! This one is from Nike. I will likely use it on a long run on Saturday following my 5k, and will be sure to let you all know how I like it. I’m a little worried about it flopping around as I run, but the reviews online were good so I’ll give it a shot!

Before I go, I will leave you with a quick story about Stacey’s dog, Jake. Jake is a seven year old puggle with a bit of an under bite (we call it his Elvis look). Well this week Jake has been really sick, vomiting, sleeping a lot, etc. Stacey took him to the vet yesterday where she was informed that he had most of the symptoms of pancreatic cancer. They did some blood work and gave Jake some IVs. Needless to say, Stacey was worried sick and I felt bad for the poor guy! Thankfully Stacey got a phone call from the vet today saying that Jake is fine and just has the flu. Yay! So as I am writing my post tonight after our workout, I get a call from Stacey. Earlier this evening I gave Stacey some all natural sleeping pills since she has been having trouble sleeping. Apparently while we were working out Jake got into Stacey’s purse and ate eight of the sleeping pills…and a pack of gum. He is fine and must be feeling better. At least Jake will sleep well tonight!

I’m all drugged up

Leave a Reply

