Buckeyes and…BUCKEYES!

My family has always had Christmas traditions. Growing up we made cinnamon applesauce gingerbread ornaments, we listened to Christmas music as we all put up the tree together, and we made buckeyes. Some of these traditions have been harder to keep up with over the years, but buckeyes are one that I don’t think will ever go away! For those of you non-Ohioans, buckeyes are a non-edible nut. They are also the best college football team in the nation (in my humble opinion). And, most importantly, they are a chocolate and peanut butter candy. My mom has been making buckeyes to give out to neighbors, teachers, etc. at Christmas since I was little. In the last several years, though, it has become a tradition to make buckeyes the day after Thanksgiving while we watch the Ohio State Buckeyes play football. This year we got to watch the Buckeyes beat That Team Up North while we made the delicious candy.

The finished product!

The finished product!

This year, everyone in my family had a role they played in the buckeye-making. My mom, who is now a pro, made the dough and rolled the buckeyes. While my sister and I were not home at this point (Black Friday shopping called our names), I’m pretty sure my dad was there to lend a hand. Since I began working at a candy store that sells handmade chocolates in high school, I have been dubbed the “expert dipper” in my family and was the one assigned to dip all of the peanut butter balls into melted chocolate. I use a toothpick to dip the buckeyes, so they are left with holes in the top of them once they are done. That’s where my sister, Erin, comes in. She was the hole coverer this year. I’ll leave it at that. Then, once our beautiful buckeyes are complete, we obviously have to know how they taste. Dad typically makes his way into the kitchen at this point! I’d say the four of us make a pretty good buckeye making team!

We obviously did all of this while sporting our Ohio State Buckeyes gear:

O-H!

O-H!

I then decided that our dog, Scout, needed some attention. She loves peanut butter, so having the scent of it in the air without being able to eat any was probably pure torture.

Can I PLEASE have some?!

Can I PLEASE have some?!

I now have some buckeyes sitting in my freezer in my apartment that call my name every night. I think I need to have people over so I don’t eat them all myself! I’ll also have to talk to the “head chef” to see how she feels about me sharing the coveted buckeye recipe with you!

  • What traditions does your family have for the holidays?
  • Does your family have any secret recipes that others are always asking you for?
Leave a Reply

