Thanksgiving Recap

Although I’m a week late on this post, I’d say my Thanksgiving this year was pretty memorable. I was able to spend a significant amount of time with my family (including several from out of town), got to celebrate with friends, and checked a couple things off my sister’s wedding to-do list!

My sister and I both arrived to my parents’ house on Wednesday afternoon, and we pretty much moved nonstop from there. Wednesday evening we went to try on her wedding dress, which came in only two months after ordering it (the estimated time we were given was 6-8 months!). She looked beautiful, even before alterations. You will all just have to wait until October 12, 2013 before you can see pictures! But trust me…it’s a good one!

Thanksgiving morning I ran in a 4-mile race in downtown Akron called The Home Run for the Homeless. It was my first time participating in this race and it was a rough one. Just four days after the Hot Chocolate 15k my knee was still sore and this race was HILLY! It was a cold morning and I am extremely grateful to my parents and sister for coming to watch! I never realized how popular this particular race was, but it was nice to see so many people running for such a great cause. Sadly I haven’t run since the race because my joints are in desperate need of a break and time to heal. Hopefully I can be back on the road soon!

58992_737229639393_1653687565_n

All bundled up for the race!

The rest of Thanksgiving was spent with family. Thanksgiving is always a crazy day because we try to spend time with both sides of the family. This year it was appetizers with my dad’s family in Brecksville then dinner with my mom’s family in Akron. It was nice catching up with my cousins on my dad’s side while casually grazing the selection of delicious snacks (hey, I ran four miles that morning, right?). I felt kind of rushed, though, since we had to make it back to Akron in time for dinner. We were able to take our time eating dinner and enjoyed some delicious desserts as well. By the time we got back to my parents’ house we were all exhausted. I always feel pretty worn out at the end of Thanksgiving, and am thankful that we catch a bit of a break at Christmas–only one family to celebrate with since the other side is Jewish! Now that Thanksgiving is over I feel I can get excited for Christmas and have already set up my tree. Now I just have to find my menorah and I will have a beautiful, Cathew-ic apartment!

Leave a Reply

