Merpy Christmukah

No, not a typo, but the language of a “Cathew.” An interesting/fun fact about me is that I am half-Jewish, half-Catholic/Christian. Seems like an oxymoron, right? Well, my mom’s side of the family is Jewish and my dad’s is Catholic. Growing up, my family always celebrated both Christmas and Chanukah, Easter and Passover, etc. Although I now identify religiously as a Christian, the Jewish culture is still a large part of who I am. I have fond memories of celebrating Chanukah with my family growing up: arguing with my sister over who got to light the menorah each night and spinning the dreidel with my cousins. With that being said, I want to wish a Merry Christmas, Happy Chanukah, or Happy Kwanzaa to everyone out there. I hope your holiday season (whatever your holiday may be) is full of joy, love, and happiness!

Last night, two of my friends/coworkers came over for a movie night and got to experience the first night of Chanukah for their first time. They repeated the prayer after me in Hebrew and got to watch the candles burn down as our movie went on. Next time I will have to go a couple steps farther and make latkes and teach them to play dreidel!

Happy Holidays, all!

As seen in my apartment

As seen in my apartment

Leave a Reply

