Hurts So Good

I’m writing this post tonight because I’m not sure how well I’ll be moving tomorrow. Today’s workout was tough!

Before we get to that, let’s talk about today’s meals. For those of you who may have just started reading my blog, don’t know me, etc., I work at a college and it is a requirement of my job to live on the school’s campus. Part of my compensation for my job is that I eat for free in the dining halls, therefore most of my meals consist of the food that is offered in one of the two dining halls or the sandwich shop on-campus.

Breakfast this morning (and the last few mornings) was two slices of Ezekiel Cinnamon Raisin bread toasted with almond butter. I just bought and tried almond butter for the first time this weekend, and I am HOOKED! I like peanuts, but there is just something about almonds that I love! Because there are very few ingredients, I can really taste the almonds–it’s a nice change! I can’t stop eating the stuff, and I’m sure it will be a regular item on my grocery list from here on out!

Typically for lunch I go to one of the dining halls on-campus and make myself a nice salad at the salad bar. Today I switched things up a bit and went to the sandwich shop that is just across the quad from my office. I picked a pre-made salad with hard-boiled egg, tomato, grilled chicken, and a little bacon. I knew that the amount of chicken on the salad wouldn’t be enough to sustain me for the rest of the day, so I ordered an extra grilled chicken breast to add to it. I topped it off with some Lite Italian dressing and my tummy was happy by the time my lunch hour was over.

Dinner was a little more difficult because I had to get it to go before my workout tonight, and I knew I would need something to refuel me following my workout. Aside from my Ezekiel bread, I haven’t had many carbs lately, and my body was craving them! I chose pasta with marinara sauce, and added grilled chicken to the top. On the side I had some green beans, as well as some fresh pineapple (which I am enjoying right now!). Although it didn’t quite go with my meal, I had a cold glass of chocolate milk which was just what I needed post-workout!

I’m starting to think I might do some blogs here and there about how to eat healthy on a college campus. My good friend and co-worker, Emily, oversees all of the food served on-campus and is always responsive to suggestions! It’s good to know people! Anyway, I know a lot of college students struggle with eating right when they leave home and don’t have their parents choosing their meals for them each day, so it might be something I write about a bit more since it’s something I also face! I always have the option of cooking my own food (and I do sometimes), but because the meal plan is part of my compensation it seems silly to basically pay for food twice by cooking for myself all the time.

Anyway, onto my workout! My friend Kristin is currently studying to get re-certified in personal training. She has offered to help me come up with workouts from time to time to whip my butt into better shape! I should note that Kristin is also six months pregnant, and part of me thinks she is kicking my butt to make up for the fact that she is not currently able to workout at the intensity she typically does. Today, Kristin recommended this workout from Body Rock TV:

The Body Rock TV website isn’t currently working, but here is a link from YouTube of the workout. The video is originally from the Body Rock TV website.

http://https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rmruFKac7FE

The workout is as follows:

Backward Lunge Kick Up-25 reps each leg

Walk Over Push Ups-50 reps

Mountain Climber-50 reps

Sumo Squats Knee Up-50 reps

One Leg Bridge Leg Lift-25 reps each leg

Side to Side Squat and Leg Lift-25 reps each leg

One Arm Tricep Push Up-25 reps each arm

Star Crunch-50 reps

Diagonal Touch Down-25 reps each side

Side Plank Lift-25 reps each side

One Leg Wall Sit-25 reps each leg

Kristin also had me run a mile on the treadmill to warm up and jog a mile on the treadmill when I finished. When I watched the video of this workout I was really unsure as to whether or not I would be able to do it. I am proud to say that I survived and, although it was tough, it felt really good! I know I’m going to be sore tomorrow, but I like the feeling of being sore because it lets me know that I’ve worked hard.

For the rest of the evening I plan to relax and hang out with my kitty. I think she’s feeling neglected. I spoke with one of my friends, Madeline, tonight and we are planning to run a 5k together next month. I’m glad to have that as a motivator to get my butt outside and running!

  • What are some good workouts you’ve done recently?
  • Is anyone signed up for any upcoming races?
  • How do you get motivated to run outside during the cold weather months?
2 thoughts on “Hurts So Good

  1. Pingback: Weekly Recap | Runner in Stilettos

Leave a Reply

