Apology and What I’ve Been Up To

Hello everyone!

I should start by apologizing for my hiatus from my blog the last couple of months. To say that things were chaotic for a bit would be an understatement, but I don’t have much of an excuse for the last couple of weeks. So here I am, ready to blog again, and I’d like to catch you all up on what I’ve been doing!

About a month and a half ago I completed my move to South Carolina. The process itself was a bit hectic. I started my new job on May 13th, but my last day at my old job was May 10th. Oh and my friend’s bridal shower was in Ohio on May 11th. So the weekend of May 3rd my parents and I moved all my stuff down to South Carolina, quickly unpacked all that we could, and drove back to Ohio so I could be at a work event that Sunday night. This is how the place looked when we left it Sunday morning:

Guest bedroom

Guest bedroom

IMG_5076

Master Bedroom and Closet

IMG_5077

Kitchen, Living Room, and Dining Area

I’d say we had a productive few days!

After a drive back to Ohio, my last week of work, a going away party (more on that later), a bridal shower, and a Mother’s Day shopping outing, it was time for me to make the trek back to South Carolina myself for my final move. For those of you that know me well, you’re probably wondering “What about Bella?” Well, Bella drove with me. In the car. For ten hours. Now you’re probably wondering, “How did she do?” The following pictures should help answer your question:

Just hanging out

Just hanging out

Falling asleep

Falling asleep

Passed out

Passed out

At least one of us was comfortable! What these pictures don’t show is our detour to some random road off the highway. At one point during the drive, Bella went down by my feet and slept between my feet and the driver’s seat. At first I freaked out, but when I realized she wasn’t going anywhere near the pedals and had found a comfortable spot, I relaxed and let her be. Hey, at least she was sleeping and therefore not crying! So later, when Bella went back down by my feet I didn’t worry, as I assumed she was finding her comfortable sleeping spot again. Well I was wrong. Bella decided she wanted to sleep under the driver’s seat and wriggled her way under there. Only problem was, chubster couldn’t wriggle her way back out. And then she was crying. And howling. So I pulled off at the next exit which happened to be a deserted road with absolutely nothing on it. I then got to unpack the back seat of my car (which was packed full on my side and had Bella’s crate, food and litter box on the other) so that I could pull Bella out from under my seat. She went into her crate for a bit after that. I’m not above putting my cat in timeout!

Once we arrived in South Carolina, Bella was extremely hesitant and unsure about our new digs. She has since adjusted and has found many hiding places as well as several windows she can sit in. She’s adjusted well.

As for me, I’m loving my new job and coworkers! Right now I have 3-day weekends, and have been trying to use those to go out and explore and visit friends. I’ve joined a gym and have been taking some group exercise classes pretty regularly. The local farmer’s market has proven to have some excellent produce, and I’ve found some excellent little boutiques to shop in! One of my big struggles down here: running outside. It is hot and humid! That’s gonna be an adjustment!

Next weekend I’m heading to Columbus, Ohio for a friend’s bachelorette party (my second in a 3-week span) and wedding. I’m really looking forward to seeing friends from home as well as my parents!

I’ll be sure to check back in with more updates on what I’ve been up to, as well as the shenanigans we will surely be up to next weekend!

Leave a Reply

